Cross-Eyed With Cross Training

Maybe this —>  water running  will lead to this! —> photo-1

A girl can dream can’t she?

Not so long ago, I was battling the mortal enemy of all runners–the stress fracture. You can read about HERE in a post from my other blog (Whoa!) I had to go 6.5 weeks without tying on my trusty Newtons and hitting the road. It was torture, physically/mentally. But I came out on the other side an enlightened runner, a reformed runner, one could almost say. That stress fracture taught me that there is a lot more to fitness than this little box of running that I cage myself in from time to time. There is also more to life–and as they say, “moderation is the key to life!” I can’t say that I have ever heard , “Running is the key to life!” and I run around with some pretty serious pavement pounders. In any case, one of the many lessons that the 6.5 week running retirement taught me is that you have to switch it up! As in, you must. There is a thing called muscle memory and you will never see changes if your body is so accustomed to doing the same running motion on repeat. Your body at some point could probably just run in its sleep. Now, that is a little dramatic. But going through the motions was never the most ideal way to do anything–ever.

If you are injured (fingers crossed you aren’t, but if you are then chin up!), or you have come to the realization that you need to switch things up then I recommend the common swimming, biking, elliptical schpeel. But, if you are looking for something really different look no further than water running!

Yes, goofy looking, goofy sounding, but goofy is as goofy does. The Pfitzinger Deep Water Running Program changed my outlook on what it means to cross train. After 6.5 weeks in the water, I came back to the world of running without looking like a fish out of water.

So strap on that blue water belt, slip on your swim cap, and jump into the deep end! Remember that when you deep water run, mimic your running style as closely as you can. Really maintain and focus on form (this way, you will be less distracted by how slowly you are moving through the water as lappers speed by). You may be looking like the tortoise compared to the hare–but remember how that story ends!

Screen shot 2013-02-13 at 3.24.19 PM

Here is the 7-week plan and the science behind it all. Now get out there and try something new everyone! ❤

2 thoughts on “Cross-Eyed With Cross Training

Leave a Reply

